Toggl Track Integration

The Toggl Plan and Toggl Track integration provides an easy way to start and stop timing your tasks from within Toggl Plan, and keep your Clients, Plans and public Projects synced in both tools.  
The integration will:
  • • Sync Clients, Plans and public Projects that have matching names in both Toggl Plan and Toggl Track
  • • Create new Clients, Plans and public Projects on both sides
  • • Enable tracking time from Toggl Plan and automatically send it to Toggl Track as time entries
  • Visualize actual time tracked compared to time estimated in Progress Overview
The integration does not:
  • • Sync Toggl Track private Projects 
  • • Recreate existing Clients, Plans and public Projects in the corresponding tool (created before the integration was enabled)
In this article we cover: 
  1. Setting the integration up as Owner/Admin
  2. Starting time tracking as Owner/Admin
  3. Starting time tracking as Member
  4. Tracking time in Toggl Plan
  5. Things to keep in mind
  6. Why is the integration creating time entries without a public Project or Client attached in Toggl Track?
  7. Why are we not syncing private Projects?

Setting the integration up as Owner/Admin

Setting up the integration is quick and easy. 

First of all, the Toggl Plan workspace Owner or Admin must activate the integration in the Integrations tab. If you are the Owner or Admin of this workspace, great! You’ll be able to allow access to the integration for your whole team.

Keep in mind that the settings you choose will apply to the whole workspace. Also, all Clients and public Projects that you have access to in your Toggl Track workspace will be synced with this Plan workspace (ideally, you’re the admin in your Toggl Track workspace). However, each user who wants to track time through Toggl Plan, needs to enter their own Toggl Track API token from the integrations page once you’ve enabled the integration.

Setting up as Owner/Admin:
  1. Navigate to the Toggl Track integration page in Toggl Plan (Settings → Integrations → Toggl Track)
  2. Select 'ON' to enable the integration
  3. Copy and paste your Toggl Track API token into the relevant field in your Toggl Plan settings and hit Enter or click anywhere on the page to save. To find your Toggl Track API token click on the ‘Get token’ button to access Track Profile settings
  4. Choose the correct Toggl Track workspace and choose your settings

Starting time tracking as Owner/Admin

Setting up as Owner/Admin when the integration has already been enabled:
  1. Navigate to the Toggl Track integration page in Toggl Plan (Settings → Integrations → Toggl Track)
  2. Copy and paste your Toggl Track API token into the relevant field in your Toggl Plan settings and hit Enter or click anywhere on the page to save. To find your Toggl Track API token click on the ‘Get token’ button to access Track Profile settings

If you change the Toggl Track workspace or the option to tag time entries, please keep in mind that these will change for the whole Toggl Plan workspace.

Starting time tracking as Member

Once the integration has been enabled, every Member should follow these steps below if they want to track time from Toggl Plan.

  1. Navigate to the Toggl Track integration page in Toggl Plan (Settings → Integrations → Toggl Track)
  2. Copy and paste your Toggl Track API token into the relevant field in your Toggl Plan settings and hit Enter or click anywhere on the page to save. To find your Toggl Track API token click on the ‘Get token’ button to access Track Profile settings

You will not be able to edit additional settings, as only the workspace Owner and Admins have access to them. The settings they have selected will apply to every user in the workspace.

You can choose to turn the option ‘Show timer icons in Timeline and Board views’ on or off, this setting only applies to you.

Tracking Time in Toggl Plan

Start the timer either from the timeline or board: 

...by right-clicking on a task:

...by hovering on the task and clicking on the icon that appears:

…or from top-right corner inside the task card:

When you’re timing a task, you’ll get a visual indication in the bottom right-hand corner of your workspace:


You can stop tracking time the same ways you can start it, or by ending the tracking at the bottom right-hand tracker.

When tracking has been started in Toggl Plan, it should also be stopped in Toggl Plan.

Things to keep in mind

  • • There are two reasons why you possibly can't see the Toggl Track integration in your integrations page. 
  1. You're a Solo plan user, whereas the feature is a paid feature. You can compare our subscription plans on our pricing page.
  2. Your workspace Owner or Admin hasn't enabled the integration. Just ask them to do so and you'll be good.
  • • The integration will match Clients, Plans and public Projects that have exactly the same names in both Plan and Track
  • • When a new Client or Plan is created in Toggl Plan, they are automatically added to your Toggl Track workspace as Client and public project. When a new Client or public project is created in Toggl Track, it is automatically added to Toggl Plan as Client and Plan. 
  • • Existing Clients, Plans and public Projects that do not have matching correspondents in the other tool, will not be carried over. However, if you create a matching or new Client/Plan/public Project on the other side, they will be synced. Also, if you edit any of the existing ones, they will be either matched or created as new on the other side.
  • • Deleting Clients, Plans and public Projects does not delete them in the other tool, but simply removes the connections.
  • • Only workspace Owners, Admins and Members with full editing rights can use the integration to track time and in order to do that, each person needs to add their own API token separately.
  • • Toggl Plan and Toggl Track are still two separate tools, requiring two different logins, accounts and billing. The Integration simply makes for an easier way to time your tasks, and pass new data between Toggl Track and Toggl Plan.

Why is the integration creating time entries without a public Project or Client attached in Toggl Track?

  • For the integration to match with the correct public Project and Client in Track, the names must match exactly. If the connection has not been made, the time entry will not be linked to any public Project or Client in Toggl Track. To solve the problem, please create a matching public Project and Client in Toggl Track.
  • The Project name might match a Private project in Toggl Track. If a private Project with the matching Plan name already exists, we will not create or sync it in Toggl Track.
  • If a regular user creates a project in Toggl Track, it will not be synced with Toggl Plan until turned public by an admin. This is because regular users cannot create public Projects in Toggl Track.

Why are we not syncing private Projects?

Everything is visible to everyone in Toggl Plan. We wish to respect your privacy settings in Toggl Track and to keep the Projects you have set private, private.

We understand that private Projects are also used in Toggl Track to keep the workspace tidy and we want to respect that in Plan as well. 

That being said, we will continue looking for alternative solutions to also allow syncing private Toggl Track Projects with Plan. If you have any feedback regarding this, we would love to hear from you! 

Do you still have questions about the integration? Contact us at support@plan.toggl.com.