Creating and Editing Tasks

There are four ways you can create tasks in Toggl Plan.

  • •  In timeline view, click on the highlighted timeline area or click + drag if you want to add a multi-day task. 
  • •  In board view, click on the '+' sign next to the status name to add a task at the top of the list or '+Add Task' at the bottom of the column to add a task to the end.  
  • •  Click on the '+Add Task' button at the top-right corner of the screen.
  • •  Use the shortcut 'N' to create a new task.

Task Popup

Task popup is where you can collect and present all the relevant information about the task at hand. This way you make sure everyone on your team has a clear overview of all the information. 

Task Properties

The first section of the task is where you define its properties - the task's color, name, status, plan, assignee(s), dates etc. When you click on 'Other properties' you'll see additional properties you can bring in to view.

You can hide/show properties by hovering over their name and clicking on the 'Show' or 'Hide' buttons appearing inline. Here's a short rundown of all the task properties.

  1. Task Color - Color coding is essential for getting a clear overview of every planned task on your timeline. You can use colors to color coordinate projects, clients, priorities etc.
  2. Name - Alongside with color, task name is the most visible part of any task. Choose a name that will be clear to everyone involved with the task.
  3. Status - this indicates the progress of your task: is it being worked on or is it already done? Tasks that have been marked as done appear faded on the timeline though you can turn this off in your settings.
  4. Plan - Plans can be used to group and view separately tasks from a single project, client, initiative or anything else really. Each project comes with a colour attached to it, which also helps with fast colour coding to further improve the visual overview.
  5. Assignee - Assign the task to yourself or a colleague to get an overview of who is doing what on Team Timelines. If you already invited users to your Toggl Plan workspace, you can simply choose the appropriate assignee from the dropdown list. However, should you not find the person from that list, you can either create a dummy user or insert an email address, the latter of which will automatically invite the user to your workspace. You can also assign the task to multiple users if you want to.
  6. From - To - Set the dates to indicate when the task should be worked on and see it mapped out on timelines.
  7. Plan Segments - Segments can be used to break down your Plans into stages, departmental work etc. It'll organize your tasks on Plan timelines to different swimlanes based on the segments.
  8. Plan Tags - Tags are another way to add extra information to tasks within a Plan. Tags will appear inside task cards on Plan views and you can also filter the views by tags. Tags could be used to mark the department responsible, task priority etc.
  9. Repeat - Use the Repeat property to make the tasks reoccur daily, weekly, monthly or annually. You can also set the recurrence to end on a specific date or after certain instances.
  10. Daily Estimate - Estimate how much time the task will take each day.
  11. Start / End Time - Start and end times are meant for tasks that need to get done during certain parts of the day.

In addition to setting the above properties, you can also add extra information about the task at hand.

  • •  Add comments and use @ to mention another user and notify them via email (assuming they have their notifications on).
  • •  Use the notes section to record all relevant information needed to complete the task. For the purpose of providing an overview, you can also format your notes by adding headlines, bulleted or numbered lists, links and even snippets of code or quotes.
  • •  Create checklists to help break the tasks down into smaller chunks. Creating checklists also creates a small progress bar under the tasks in timeline view – and checking off each item will move the bar further along so you can easily track your progress.
  • •  Upload files to keep all relevant information and deliverables in one place. The limit for the file size is 10MB for free and 100MB for paid users.

Other

  • •  The upper left corner of the task popup will let you know who created the task and when was it last edited.
  • •  In the upper right corner you can either follow or unfollow the task. Following a task means you'll be notified via email when there are any changes made to the tasks so you'll always stay in the loop. 
  • •  The tree dots menu in the upper righthand side allows you to copy a link to the task so you can share it directly with a colleague, as well as duplicate or delete the task. Duplication and deletion options are also available by right clicking on the task in the Timeline view.
  • •  The arrows in the upper right hand side enable you to expand the task popup into a full page view.
  • •  To close the task popup you can either click on "X" in the upper right corner or simply click outside the task popup. All changes you make are saved automatically, so everything will be there whenever you open the task popup again.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us